Iloilo Province under state of calamity due to El Niño

Published May 15, 2024 2:36pm

The Province of Iloilo is placed under a state of calamity on May 14, 2024 because of the El Niño phenomenon.

The Sangguniang Panlalawigan (Provincial Board) approved Resolution No. 6, Series of 2024, based on the recommendation of the Provincial Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Office (PDRRMO) and lloilo Provincial Governor Arthur Defensor, Jr. on April 29, 2024 to put the province under a state of calamity because of the ill effects brought about by the prolonged dry season. 

Eleven towns and a city have earlier declared a state of calamity. These are Sara, Estancia, Bingawan, Balasan, Dingle, Lemery, San Dionisio, Banate, Barotac Viejo, Ajuy, Mina, and Passi City.

At least P61 million in Quick Response Fund (QRF) of the province will be utilized as additional fund to help affected farmers and other sectors.

Meanwhile, discussion on the P75-million budget from the PDRRMO Trust Fund is still being tackled by the Provincial Board and the Provincial El Niño Task Force, as of posting time.

Putting the said budget in the item is one of the resolutions recommended by the PDRRM Council to the Provincial Board.

Iloilo is the second province in Western Visayas to declare a state of calamity.

The first to declare is Antique on April 17, 2024. (via I.D. Estante/DYSI Super Radyo Iloilo) —Regional TV


WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :