Agaton makes landfall over Basey, 11 areas under Signal No. 1


Published April 11, 2022 6:05pm

PAGASA placed 11 areas under Signal No. 1 late Monday afternoon even as Tropical Storm Agaton made landfall over Basey, Samar .

In its 5 p.m. bulletin, Agaton was already in the vicinity of Baseywith maximum sustained winds of 45 kph near the center, gustiness of up to 60 kph, and central pressure of 1000 hPa.

It added that Agaton is almost stationary with strong winds or higher that extend outwards up to 150 km from the center

PAGASA said the following areas are under TCWS No. 1:

  1. The southern portion of Masbate (Dimasalang, Palanas, Cataingan, Pio V. Corpuz, Esperanza, Placer, Cawayan)
  2. Eastern Samar
  3. Samar
  4. Northern Samar
  5. Biliran
  6. Leyte
  7. Southern Leyte
  8. the northeastern portion of Cebu (Daanbantayan, San Remigio, Medellin, City of Bogo, Tabogon, Borbon, Sogod, Catmon, Carmen, Danao City, Compostela, Liloan) including Camotes Island
  9. the eastern portion of Bohol (Getafe, Talibon, Bien Unido, Trinidad, Ubay, San Miguel, Pres. Carlos P. Garcia, Mabini)
  10. Surigao del Norte
  11. Dinagat Islands

Strong winds (strong breeze to near gale conditions) will be experienced within any of the areas where TCWS No. 1 is currently in effect.

In the next 24 hours, rough to very rough seas (2.8 to 4.5 m) will prevail over the seaboards of areas TCWS No. 1 is hoisted.

Moreover, moderate to rough seas (1.2 to 3.4 m) will also prevail over the remaining seaboards of the country that are not under any wind signal or gale warning

“Agaton is forecast to slowly loop in the vicinity of the northeastern portion of Leyte and the southern portions of Samar and Eastern Samar before emerging over the Philippine Sea by tomorrow evening as another tropical cyclone with international name “Malakas” begins to interact with it, according to PAGASA.

The next tropical cyclone bulletin will be issued at 8:00 p.m. —NB, GMA News


WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :